• Interpreting and Translating Services CUA available

    The new Interpreting and Translating Services Common Use Arrangement (CUA) is now live.

    This CUA is available to all agencies and approved users. Although the CUA is
    non-mandatory, Department of Finance encourages its use as the contractors have been assessed using rigorous selection criteria.

    The CUA currently has two categories:

    • Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Languages; and
    • AUSLAN (Sign Language).

    The key benefits of the CUA include:

    • Pick and Buy from 13 different contractors for approximately 60 accredited languages;
    • seven different contractors for AUSLAN services;
    • access to interpreters and translators who have the National Authority Accreditation for Translators and Interpreters accreditation or obtained other relevant qualifications through a tertiary institution or Registered Training Organisation; and
    • promoting compliance with the Western Australian Language Services Policy 2008.

    Contract Manager Jessie Yeow recognises the benefits and impact of this new CUA.

    “While the CUA is non-mandatory, the evaluation process was stringent and the selected contractors meet the guidelines in place to provide sufficient and effective interpreting and translating services,” said Jessie.

    Finance is still in negotiations with the Preferred Respondent regarding an intended Aboriginal Australian Languages category for the CUA. A circular will be sent to agencies notifying them when the category is available.

    The Buyers Guide and other associated documents are now live on ContractsWA.

    For any further information, the current Contract Manager can be found on the Contracts WA website. 

    Published date: 27 November 2012