Department of Finance

Website Accessibility

The website accessibility requirement for Western Australian (WA) Government websites is set out in Commissioner’s Circular 2011-03 (Website Accessibility) and the associated Website Accessibility Policy [Word].

All websites within the scope of the policy are to be made compliant with the Web Content Accessibility Guideline (WCAG) Version 2.0 Level A (minimum) or Level AA (preferred) by 31 December 2013.

WA Government website accessibility survey will be open from Friday 23 August to Wednesday 25 September 2013. For more information about the survey, go to the Website Accessibility Survey webpage.

National Transition Strategy (NTS)

The Australian Government released the NTS in June 2010. The NTS sets out a 3-phase approach to be used by federal agencies to achieve the required level of compliance over a period of 2 ½ years. The Department of Finance recommends that WA government agencies follow a similar approach. (Read more about the National Transition Strategy)

Minimum requirements

For all WA Government websites, the following information should conform to WCAG2.0. (Read more about minimum requirements for WCAG2.0)

Tools and guides

Useful Resources

Contact details

For further information please contact

Office of the Government Chief Information Officer




All contents © Copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.