Department of Finance

Perkins Builders wins apprenticeship award

Perkins Builders is the inaugural winner of a new award sponsored by the Department of Finance, recognising an outstanding contribution to apprentices in the construction industry.

The Most Outstanding Head Contractor Award was presented to Ms Rebecca O’Malley of Perkins Builders by the Department’s Deputy Director General Phil Helberg, at the Master Builders Association Apprentice of the Year awards at Perth Convention Centre earlier in November.

“I would like to congratulate all the finalists on their achievements and wish them continued success in their future endeavours,” Mr Helberg said in presenting the award to Perkins.

“One thing I can see here tonight is the high calibre of apprentices being developed in Western Australia; this we should all be very proud of.”

The new award, established by the Department of Finance in concert with the MBA, recognises head contractors on the Department’s Building Management and Works projects which have excelled in employing and developing apprentices and trainees.

Perkins headed a strong field that included finalists Firm Constructions and PS Structures. All the finalists demonstrated a strong culture of training and development through the employment and support of building and construction industry apprentices and trainees. However, the evaluation team found that Perkins went above and beyond the minimum requirements specified in BMW contracts, with its effective in-house training and mentoring programs producing organisational and industry leaders of the future.

The MBA hosts the Apprentice of the Year Awards annually to recognise the outstanding achievements of apprentices in the building and construction industry in Western Australia.

The Department has been a major sponsor of this event for the past 13 years, in support of the importance of a thriving construction industry in Western Australia.

Perkins wins apprenticeship awards - BMW News

Phil Helberg, Rebecca O’Malley and MBA Training Committee Chairman Philip Kemp.

Published 24 November 2017


All contents © Copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.